Welfare

Welfare

Welfare at LMH is a combination of social activities within college and peers that you can go to confidentially about anything on your mind, such as health, academic and financial concerns. As your male and female welfare officers, our role is to make sure the JCR is happy, healthy and that the atmosphere within the college is as chilled out and pleasant as possible. Whether that’s through weekly welfare teas or one-time events (such as farm animals!!) we aim to bring the college together, despite everyone’s busy schedules!

Each week we host welfare teas, bringing all 4 years together with the common purpose of free cake, biscuits, tea and more! These are a great opportunity to catch up with friends and make new ones, bonding over free food. Wellness Weeks have a variety of events – from yoga, free massages and dog walks to alpaca petting (yes, this happened!). They often during 5th week to help fight any mid-term blues that you may feel.

Aside from the fun stuff you’ll see us doing on a college-wide level, we’re also there as a friendly face on a more personal level. If you ever want to chat, need some help, or aren’t sure what to do, then we, and the peer supporters, are your people. We’ll do what we can to help or send you in the direction of people that can.

Meanwhile, we also provide the following things FREE: (yay)

Just drop us a message, use this form or pidge us if you would like any of the following:
Condoms
Pregnancy tests
Dental dams
Lube
Morning after pill (please contact us for more information)

For the anonymous request form system, the password can be found on the welfare info doc attached to every email from Dan and I – you then fill out the form with what you want delivered and a code word, and a bag with your code word will magically appear in the Welfare crate in the plodge (below the pidges).

We aim to respond within 48 hours.

Although we no longer supply chlamydia tests, you can still get them for free (loveee to the NHS)! The system now is that you apply online at chlamydia.sexualhealthoxfordshire.nhs.uk and a test is posted to you.

There are also other welfare facilities on offer at LMH. In the case of sexual harassment, we have a Solace fund which pays for you and a friend to get a taxi from LMH to and from, the nearest sexual harassment clinic (Slough). To access it, go to the porters and ask for the ‘Solace Fund’ and they will call a taxi and do the rest, no questions asked.

The college nurse, Anne, can help with any medical, mental health, or even general life problems you may have. She is found between 8:45 and 11:45 every morning in her office (keep walking past the dining room towards Deneke east, ground floor, it’s at the end of the corridor on your left). GPs also come to college twice a week (Tuesdays 4:30-5:30pm and Fridays 9am-10pm) and appointments for them can be booked anonymously using your date of birth on signup sheets outside the nurse’s room.

LMH is known for being a fun, friendly and vibrant college! However, amidst everything it can sometimes be easy to forget to look after yourself, which is where the Peer Supporters, Dan and I come in. If there’s ever a time when you’re feeling low and want to chat, or just need a new perspective on something we’re only an email/text/facebook message/corridor away!

Welf love xx

Useful contacts:

Female Welfare Officer – Libby McNie – jcr.femalewelfare@lmh.ox.ac.uk     07941901331

Male Welfare Officer – Daniel Kirby– jcr.malewelfare@lmh.ox.ac.uk     07738066538

Nurse – Anne Harpin – nurse@lmh.ox.ac.uk   01865 274319

Doctor – Tuesdays 4:30 – 5:30 and Fridays 9:00 – 10:00, 08165 274319

Peer Support Coordinatior- Sif Beyer-Hunt – sif.beyer-hunt@lmh.ox.ac.uk 07967456420

Harassment Tutor – Christine Gerrard – christine.gerrard@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Welfare Fellow – Helen Barr – helen.barr@lmh.ox.ac.uk

Junior Deans – Sapna Sinha – sapna.sinha@lmh.ox.ac.uk  07392978904

Vania Pinto – vania.pinto@lmh.ox.ac.uk   07478656574

Chaplain – Alan Doig – alan.doig@lmh.ox.ac.uk  01865274386

Many more non-LMH contacts can be found on the Welfare section of the LMH intranet.

Advertisements