The Independent Chair

An addition to the new LMH JCR Constitution was the role of the Independent Chair. The Chair is responsible for ensuring that the administration of the JCR is at all times in accordance with the Constitution and Standing Orders. To this end, they resolve any disputes that arise, in accordance with the Constitution. They also chair all General Meetings of the JCR and act as the Returning Officer in all JCR Elections and Referendums alongside the Secretary who acts as the Deputy Returning Officer.

A new Independent Chair is elected by the last General Meeting of every term.

The Independent Chair for Trinity Term 2021 is Leah Bhandal who can be contacted on .